A weekend away…

… keeps the doctor away?

If it were for the amount of food I ate in 3 days, it certainly wouldn’t.

Cheap and good, what else could you ask for?

Cheap and good, what else could you ask for?

I won’t ramble on how good that breakfast in the picture was (and so were the rest of the meals I had), you would need to be there. Maybe it was because it was already 11 a.m. and I hadn’t eaten anything since the previous night, but whatever. That 35 minute walk was well worth it.

However, if it were for the amount of laughs you can have during a weekend away, I’m pretty sure THAT can keep the doctor away. They say laughing is good for our health, right? Well, I say, so is travelling.

I’ve always been one of those people who are always thinking about their next destination. Don’t get me wrong, I’m more than comfortable to stay in my comfort zone, inside my bubble; but then again, I love it out there too! I’ve always been passionate about other cultures, languages, countries, people… I guess that especific interest is what made me study Translation, but let’s not talk about that or this entry will take paragraphs and paragraphs. I have a friend who thinks I’m a nomad (I think I had already metioned it), and I’m alright with that. Travelling gives me some kind of energy that nothing else gives me. Have you heard of those energy drinks and those detox juices? I have never tried neither of them, but I guess travelling is my energy drink (or my detox juice, if you’re one of those).

Now, put your friends and a place you’ve always wanted to visit in the same box. Mix it up a little and get on the next plane, train, bus, car (or maybe even a camel!) and just get the hell out of your bubble. Live a new, different life even just for a couple of days. I’m telling you, it’s worth it. You’ll come back home full of energy and you’ll feel like you’re capable of anything. You’ll come back with new ideas for that essay that was killing you the previous week; you’ll come back wanting to find and try new places in your town/city; you’ll come back wanting more than what you had before you went on that little holiday. More than what you were. Some trips change you for a couple of weeks, some mark you for a bunch of months, or even years. But what I’ve discovered is that the simple act of travelling changes you for life.

It’s like a can of energy drink that never empties.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a comment